Welcome to BEN

BEN is currently undergoing some changes and will relaunch on Tuesday. Some of the content may be a few days old, but we will be back to normal publishing very soon. Thanks for your patience.

Kind regards,

The BEN-Global Team


Prime Minister’s 2020 summit attendees announced

The full list of the members of the population, sustainability, climate change and water group who will attend the Prime Minister’s 2020 summit on April 19-20 has been released. The group will be chaired by Roger Beale from The Allen Consulting Group.-The list includes: Ms Maria Atkinson, Lend Lease, NSW Ms Cheryl Batagol, Melbourne Water, Victoria Mr Damien Troy Bell, Windamara Aboriginal Corporation, Victoria Mr Michael Peter Berwick, ex-Douglas Shire Council Mayor, Queensland Professor Marcela Bilek, University of Sydney, NSW Mr Carl Eric Binning, Greening Australia, WA Dr Stuart Blanch, WWF, NT Dr Grant Blashki, University of Melbourne, Victoria Ms Georgina Elise Boon, Tasmania Mrs Leith Boully, farmer, Queensland Mr Greg Bourne, WWF Australia, NSW Ms Petrea Bradford, Origin Energy, NSW Ms Jillian Broadbent, Reserve Bank of Australia board member, NSW Ms Larissa Brown, Centre for Sustainability, Victoria Emeritus Professor Valerie Anne Brown, Australian National University, ACT Mr Russell Ronald Caplan, Victoria Ms Irina Cattalini, WA Council of Social Service, WA Ms Erin Mara Cini, Australian Water Association, Queensland Mr Peter Coates, Xstrata Coal CEO, NSW Professor Chris Cocklin, James Cook University, Queensland Dr Peter Cook, Cooperative Research Centre for Greenhouse Gas Technologies (CO2 CRC), ACT Dr Wendy Craik, Murray-Darling Basin Commission, ACT Professor Mary Elizabeth Crock, University of Sydney, NSW Ms Cheryl Desha, Griffith University, Queensland Mr Stewart Ellis, irrigator, NSW Ms Penelope Figgis (AO), Australian Conservation Foundation NSW Dr Brian Fisher, former Australian Bureau of Agricultural and Resource Economics (ABARE) chief, ACT Professor Timothy Flannery, scientist and author, NSW Professor Ross Garnaut, economist at the Australian National University and the Federal Government’s climate change policy advisor, Victoria Professor Stephen Thomas Garnett, Charles Darwin University, NT Dr Geoff Garrett, CSIRO chief, ACT Ms Melissa-Leigh Jane George, State Indigenous Natural Resource Management Network, Queensland Professor Ross Stewart Guest, economist, Queensland Ms Tanya Ha, author, NSW Dr Steve Hatfield Dodds, CSIRO researcher, ACT Mr Michael Hawker, Insurance Australia Group, NSW Professor Lesley Margaret Head, Wollongong University, NSW Dr Judy Isabel Henderson, Global Reporting Initiative chair, NSW Ms Anne Howe, SA Water, SA Mr Gerry Hueston, ex-BP Australasia chair, Victoria Dr Karen Elizabeth Hussey, Australian National University Water Initative, ACT Ms Susan Barbara Jeanes, Renewable Energy Generators of Australia, SA Dr Andrew Kenneth Leonard Johnson, Queensland Dr Barry Owen Jones, Hawke Govt Science Minister, Victoria Professor David Karoly, University of Melbourne, VIC Ms Roslyn Kelly, Keating Govt Environment Minister, NSW Professor Shahbaz Khan, Charles Sturt University and CSIRO, NSW Mr Ian Kiernan, Clean Up Australia, NSW Mr Eric Ronald Wing-Fai Knight, NSW Dr Gabrielle Sarah Kuiper, urban planner, NSW Ms Susan Mary Lenehan, former South Australian Environment Minister, NSW Professor Ian Lowe, Australian Conservation Foundation, Queensland Professor Amanda Lynch, Monash University, Victoria Ms Romilly Madew, Green Building Council of Australia, NSW Professor Warwick James McKibbin, Australian National University, ACT Ms Robyn McLeod, former Labor candidate for Mordialloc and senior adviser to Bracks Government ministers, Victoria Dr Pam McRae-Williams, University of Ballarat, VIC Mr Stephen Mills, Australian National Committee on Irrigation and Drainage, Victoria Mr Joe Morrison, North Australian Indigenous Land & Sea Management Alliance, NT Ms Sam Mostyn, ex-Insurance Australia Group, NSW Dr Chloe Munro, National Water Commission Ms Elizabeth Nosworthy, Queensland Water Commission, Queensland Adjunct Professor Monica Viviene Oliphant, International Solar Energy Society, SA Ms Natasha Palich, architect, Victoria Mr George Pappas, Committee for Melbourne, Victoria Dr Graeme Ivan Pearman, Climate Institute, Victoria Mrs Joanne Louise Pfeiffer, farmer, SA Professor Hugh Possingham, University of Queensland Ms Elaine Prior, Citigroup, NSW Professor John Quiggin, University of Queensland Mr Marcus Randolph, BHP Billiton, Victoria Dr Russell Evan Reichelt, Reef Research CRC, Queensland Ms Tania Ritchie, scientist, NSW Dr Bev Ronalds, CSIRO, WA Ms Anna Rose, Australian Youth Climate Coalition, NSW Mr Joe Ross, Australian Indigenous Leadership Centre, WA Mr Bernard Joseph Salt, KPMG, Victoria Ms Ann Kathryn Shaw Rungie, Australian Institute of Urban Studies, SA Mr David Shelmerdine, Myer family member, Victoria Dr Paul Simshauser, CEO of Babcock & Brown Power, NSW Professor Will Steffen, Australian National University, NSW Dr Lorraine Stephenson, Deloittes, Queensland Mr John Thwaites, ex-Bracks Govt Environment Minister, VIC Professor Patrick Troy, Australian National University, ACT Dr Tony Paul Wilkins, Publishers National Environment Bureau, NSW

Share this story:

Click here to read the rest of today's news stories.

Email to a Friend Print This Page

Company Search

Story Search

Advanced Search

WME eMag placeholder
IWM eMag placeholder